FaceFX Documentation and support
The FaceFX License Manager allows you to share your licenses with people you trust via a system called license pools. Each license may be checked out and returned to the server as many times as you want, to as many computers as you want. However, it can only be on one computer at a time. You can share licenses by passing them back and forth through the server.
When you sign up, you are made the administrator of your own license pool. This pool is where any FaceFX license you buy and import will live. This pool is also how you can share your licenses with other people. Access to a pool is governed by the pool key. The pool key a sequence of letters and digits that is randomly generated by the license server. This key can be given to a co-worker or friend, allowing them to request to join the pool.
When someone requests to join your pool, the license server sends an email to the email address on file at facefx.com notifying you that someone wants to join your pool. Then, from within the License Manager, you either approve or deny their request. Because OC3 doesn’t ask for personal information such as your name, we do not tell you anything except the requesting person’s facefx.com username. Do not allow someone with an unfamiliar username to join your pool, especially if you have not invited anyone.
Once you grant someone access to your license pool, they can check out and use your licenses as if they were the license owner. That means that if they’re a jerk, they can hold them indefinitely, stopping you from using your own licenses. To prevent this, you can set an auto-expiration time on any license checked out from your pool. With an auto-expiration time, a license will automatically be returned to the server after a set time so you’re free to check it out again. This is a good option for schools especially, so students don’t need to manually return their FaceFX licenses after class.
If you wish to remove someone’s access, you can do so by removing them from your license pool. This will not return any of your licenses held by the user to your pool. It will only prevent the user from checking any out in the future. When you remove someone’s access, it’s also wise to change your pool key so they can not request to rejoin. Note that if they do, you can easily deny them access. However, it’s most secure to simply change the pool key.
On the right-side of the application, information is displayed about the licenses available in this pool. The license ID, if the license is checked out, who has the license checked out, and the expiration time of the license (which may be greater than your pool’s expiration time if you have changed the pool expiration time after the license was checked out).